Christmas and Crossfit Recap – Back into the swing of things!

Hi all!

Hello and hope you are all well! I also really hope that all your Christmases were fantastic and everyone had a wonderful time with friends and family.

Our Christmas really was something special. My parents, David and I, back at my family home in Aberdeenshire simply spending some fantastic time together. We shared stories, memories, good food, a few glasses of bubbles and cherished every moment.

Here is a picture of us all just before our big meal of the day! (David and I did all the cooking and it was pretty darn tasty even if I say so myself – the perfect Paleo Christmas dinner – oh just thinking about it now makes me hungry again!).

xmas

Back in Glasgow now but still on our holidays. Back to normal on Thursday but just wanted to connect with the blogging world – I miss writing when I am away!

New Years Eve has arrived and we are looking forward to a lovely meal out tonight, just David and I, and then off for some cocktails afterwards! First time trying Brazilian food and can’t wait! Will let you all know how it went on Thursday.

wods and all

We were back to Crossfit yesterday, our usual morning session and it was great to get back into the swing of things… literally!

IMG_20131230_073531

We began with doing more work on handstand holds. Not the easiest move in the world! A few of us are still on handstands with our legs pivoted on a box (google for more info), which makes it slightly easier but no less difficult – and we had to hold the position for an accumulation of 3 minutes. Gosh my core was so tense by the end of it! It took me 4 minutes 20 seconds to do the total 3 minutes which I was quite pleased about as I have never done them before (well not to this extent). One for more practice (especially with just getting used to being upside down!).

After that we moved on to, what coach calls, ‘breathless squats’. So we had 15 minutes to work up to a 20 rep max back squat – called ‘breathless’ as you will be out of breath by the end of it. And we were! Oh boy, it was a lot more intense than I had imagined. Not that I ever thought it would be easy! We were to do around 65% of our 1 RM for the weight. So I ended up being able to do  22.5kg, really pleased with that as my 1 RM is 35kg!

So we were all pretty beat, arms sore and strained. But then came the main WOD…

150 Kettle Bell Swings with 5 burpees EMOM

I went with a 10kg bell to begin with but my form wasn’t right so had to drop to a 8kg bell about half way through. Really was the best decision, I don’t think I could have completed the WOD injury free without swapping.

The burpees were a killer, especially when you got tired, then they took about 30-40 seconds to do, only leaving a short time for the KB swings. But I did it! And lay down on the floor unable to move for about 10 minutes afterwards! My time was 13 minutes 45 seconds, it felt like an eternity! Ah the madness of Crossfit – somehow always leaves you wanting more!

Leave a comment